The great Crokinole project

What with my recent obsession with board games, I have come across a fair few interesting board game ideas. Once such idea was to build a Crokinole board. For those of you that don’t know (most of you I expect), Crokinole is a traditional Canadian game that involves the players flicking small wooden disks across a circular board, trying to land them in the high scoring centre regions. After getting my dad on board this project over Christmas, we went out to our local hardware shop to buy a large sheet of wood. Over the next three days, we cut, glued and sanded the wood into something resembling a Crokinole board. Here is a photo of me putting the finishing touches to the surface of the board.

In the end, I was quite pleased with how it all turned out. Needless to say, me and my dad spent much of the remaining time I was home playing Crokinole.

7 thoughts on “The great Crokinole project

  1. oh wow! thats awesome! its really nice to be able to build things like that with your dad! so cool. i love building things myself it gives me that sense of i did something : ) haha loks like fun and i had no idea that was a canadian game!

  2. What a fun project to do with your dad. The finished result looks very professional. I didn’t realize either that Crokinole was a Canadian game. It makes sense though. It seems very much like curling, which is a huge on-ice game in Canada. Thanks for sharing the fun and the pictures 🙂

  3. Nice work Simon and Michael. All the visitors are intregued and want to stay and play! Nice work from the cleaning and catering department as well!

Leave a comment