Archive | 12:11 am

What is your favorite sound?

26 Jan

The topic from The Daily Post that I have chosen to write about this week is:

What is your favorite sound?

Firstly, a bit of context. For the last three and a bit years, I have been doing a PhD in Orthopaedic Biomechanics (see ‘My Work’ page). Coming to the end of my PhD, I still have some computer models to run. Since I need to run a number of models and each model can take days to complete, my computer is nearly always on. Indeed, it is a blessing when I get the chance to turn it off. My favourite sound is therefore the Windows XP shutdown sound. When I hear this sound, the constant agonising over whether the model will work or not is lifted from me. This sound lets me know that I have nothing to worry about… lets me know that I can think about something else for a while.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 495 other followers