Sony PSP2 – first look

29 Jan

On Thursday, Sony gave us our first glimpse of the successor to the Playstation Portable (PSP1). I have owned a PSP since 2009 and whilst it hasn’t sold as well as Nintendo’s portable system, I love the thing. I was therefore excited to hear the announcement of the PSP2 (codenamed NGP).

When I first saw the images of the PSP2, I thought I was looking at the original PSP1 (PSP1000/2000/3000, not the PSP Go). The reason for this is that like the PSP1, the PSP2 features a brick shaped design. The layout of the PSP2’s controls is also somewhat similar to its predecessor.

Whilst on the surface, there may appear to be a lack of innovation by Sony, the PSP2 has an impressive list of new features. These include:

  • Flash memory based cartridges (not USB disks like the PSP1)
  • Five inch touch sensitive screen (960 x 544 pixels)
  • Touch pad on the rear (mirroring the screen)
  • Six-axis motion sensing system
  • Front and rear facing cameras
  • Built in GPS
  • Wi-Fi and GPS connectivity
  • Two analogue sticks

There more I think about the PSP2, the more I like it. At first I was quite sceptical about the inclusion of a touch screen. On reflection however, I think the move was a good one, allowing the system to play the sort of mini games so popular on the iPhone. So long as touch controls are not shoehorned into games for which they are not suitable, this in my view can only be a good thing. The touch pad on the rear of the PSP2 can only stimulate innovate game development too.

Overall, my first impressions of the PSP2 are very positive. The fact that it looks similar to the PSP1, in my mind, is a good thing. The inclusion of a second analogue stick is a small but significant development that should bring the controls in line with home consoles. Also, having a front facing camera should make video calls on Skype possible.

 

4 Responses to “Sony PSP2 – first look”

  1. Kimberley Timbol January 29, 2011 at 12:47 am #

    This looks interesting. I’m sure I’m bound to buy one of these as well. The first PSP was such a joy to me! :D

    • stickinsect January 30, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

      I just hope it is not too expensive.

  2. superjessleong January 29, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    Ooo looks exciting!!! Haha can’t wait to see how it turns out ;3 but I don’t think I’ll be getting my hands on this anytime soon ;p

    • stickinsect January 30, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

      I don’t think anyone will be getting their hands on it anytime soon :-( Christmas perhaps.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 494 other followers

