My last postaday2011 post

9 Mar

As the title says, this is my last postaday2011 post. I have decided to stop the postaday2011 challenge for a number of reasons. I am currently writing up my PhD thesis, with all the work I have to do for my thesis, writing a new post every day is becoming a bit too much. Also, I want this blog to focus a bit more on quality and less on quantity. Finally, the time it takes to write a post every day means that I have recently not been able to visit and comment on other people’s blogs. There are many great blogs out there and I think it only fair to give them the time other people give mine.

Since starting the postaday2011 challenge on the 1st January, I have managed a total of 68 posts. Thanks to everyone that has visited my blog during this time and left comments. From now on, I aim to post on this blog around four times a week (perhaps Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Sunday). I hope that you continue to visit.

23 Responses to “My last postaday2011 post”

  1. Sandra Bell Kirchman March 10, 2011 at 12:19 am #

    Ya did good, Michael. I burnt out long before you did. Are you thinking of going postaweek? I am doing that now and the pressure is wayyyyyy less. I hope you are not thinking of leaving blogging. You’re too much fun and have such a unique and refreshing perspective on things.

    • Sandra Bell Kirchman March 10, 2011 at 12:21 am #

      Oops, I didn’t see the rest of your post. I thought it was the shorty that was displayed in the email notice. Glad you will be with us regularly :D

    • stickinsect March 17, 2011 at 12:14 am #

      I hope to still post four time a week. I will see how that goes.

  2. Jackie Paulson 1966 March 10, 2011 at 12:36 am #

    Please let me know how your thesis is doing: jackiepaulson8@yahoo.com
    I am so excited for you and that does take priority over this. Keep on keeping on~ Best of luck Jackie~ ” I will be back”

    • stickinsect March 17, 2011 at 12:15 am #

      Thanks, hopefully my thesis should not take too long now (I have been saying this for a while though).

  3. superjessleong March 10, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    haha awwh! okies :) i hope you do well!! work hard :D!! you can do it :D OF COURSE i will continue to visit your blog!! love it very much :) i enjoy reading your posts :)

    • superjessleong March 11, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

      perhaps postaweek!

      • stickinsect March 17, 2011 at 12:21 am #

        Yep, I have started using the postaweek2011 tags.

    • stickinsect March 17, 2011 at 12:15 am #

      Thanks, I promise to check your blog more often too!

  4. BabyBird March 10, 2011 at 3:36 am #

    Aww.. of course schooling comes first :) Will look forward to when you do post!
    Good luck on your PhD thesis!

    • stickinsect March 17, 2011 at 12:17 am #

      Thanks, I hope to post a few time a week still.

  5. edelweiss March 10, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    Good luck on the thesis!!

  6. ristinw March 10, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    Awwww > . < This is what life is! Busy, busy and busy. Your blog is very great and I really enjoy reading it. :) Hope you to focus more on your thesis first, of course, and to have great results! :)

  7. One Change At A Time March 11, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    Good job so far and good call now. I too would pick quality of quantity. Good luck with your thesis. Hope to see a post from you every now and then :)

  8. evelyn March 11, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    yup, at times posting daily can be a drag, especially if you are a perfectionist. My last couple posts ain’t quality at all, but I decided to stick with my commitment and post everyday *cross fingers*. when I run out of time, most likely it will be video, or pictures, or random useless stuff.
    But thesis is really a big deal and you should concentrate on that :D. I will still visit from time to time, too! :)

    • stickinsect March 17, 2011 at 12:20 am #

      Good luck with postaday! I look forward to continue reading your “random useless stuf” ;-)!

  9. sterlingsop March 15, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    Good luck with your thesis, and I don’t blame you for prioritising your time. I’m lucky that my time is more or less my own, but I do have days where I can’t spend as much time as I would like on my posts and I end up just posting something for the sake of it so I can fulfill my postaday2011 commitment.

    I look forward to your future posts though. I have found you very thought provoking and entertaining so far and you are far too good to give up writing completely.

  10. shobavish April 17, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

    I am finding this a little late – but can completely sympathize. I am struggling with the daily commitment so I get the part about having the time to read and engage with other great bloggers, and the danger of quantity over quality.

    Kudos and making what must have been a tough decision. Here is wishing you all the very best with you PhD!

    • stickinsect April 28, 2011 at 12:32 am #

      Thanks, I am a little less busy now so will try and do a bit more blogging from now.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 494 other followers

