London 2012 Olympic tickets

26 Apr

At midnight tonight, the window for applying for tickets to the 2012 Olympic Games closes. I have just finished my application. I applied for a range of events from athletics and cycling to judo and beach volleyball. Although I applied for fifteen events in total, I do not know how many I will eventually end up being successful in getting tickets for. The reason is that for events that are oversubscribed (most of the ones that I have applied for I imagine), a ballot will be held. Unfortunately, since money will be taken out of my account (in May) before I know which tickets I have been given (in June), I have to set aside the maximum possible amount. Oh well, I guess it makes the whole process a bit more exciting… Perhaps I can even try to work out which tickets I have been allocated from the amount of money that suddenly disappears from my account come May?

16 Responses to “London 2012 Olympic tickets”

  1. Sandra Bell Kirchman April 26, 2011 at 12:32 am #

    That is exciting, Michael! Hope you get the ones you really want.

    • stickinsect April 28, 2011 at 12:37 am #

      I am not that confident. I heard today that there were three times more applications than there were tickets. The Opening ceremony is over 10 times oversubscribed!

  2. ristinw April 26, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Michael, there’s one thing I need to inform you: You’ve won the Versatile Blogger Award! I just passed it to you :D I hope you like it!

    http://ristinw.wordpress.com/2011/04/26/day-116365-apr-26th-2011/

  3. superjessleong April 27, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Gassp!!! really?! tahts soo awesome!! i didnt get to go to the one in vancouver in 2010 but thats okay!! i watched it all on tv XD but i BET itll be super awesome to be there in person! hope you do get them ;D thatll be fun!!

    woot also waiting for that royal wedding ;DD exciting!! i think i got a thing for british things XD

    • Sandra Bell Kirchman April 27, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      Hey, superjess, are you calling Michael a British thing? ;)

      • superjessleong April 27, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

        lool no no no x) im saying i got a thing for things that are british x) since my bag and wallet is polo o_O and it says its from englland and i looove that quote thin “keep calm and Carry on” and so on X) i dont mean any offence to michael d ^_^

      • Sandra Bell Kirchman April 27, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

        Awww, superjess, I was just teasing ya. *hug*

      • stickinsect April 28, 2011 at 12:43 am #

        I don’t mind being a “British thing” ;-)

      • superjessleong April 28, 2011 at 2:36 am #

        @Sandra awwh hehehe *hugs*

        @michael LOL youre not a thing!

    • stickinsect April 28, 2011 at 12:42 am #

      Well, I will be watching the wedding on tv this Friday. How about you? I guess it must be on quite early in Canada.

      • Sandra Bell Kirchman April 28, 2011 at 1:17 am #

        1am where I am and 3am on the east coast – not too bad on the west coast, 11pm tomorrow lol.

      • Sandra Bell Kirchman April 28, 2011 at 1:17 am #

        P.S. I like your new theme very much. However, I missed the pretty header you had on the other one.

      • stickinsect May 5, 2011 at 12:09 am #

        Thanks, I tried to include the header with this theme, but I didn’t think it looked very good.

      • superjessleong April 28, 2011 at 2:38 am #

        hmm i havnt decided yet!! i might stay up to see it :P maybe!! but if not i guess ill wait for the reruns :) itll be exciting :D too bad i cant be there in person!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A new and sociable theme « Michael's Blog - April 27, 2011

    […] Michael's Blog places I've been and things I've seen HomeAbout meAbout my workAbout this blogContact me ← London 2012 Olympic tickets […]

  2. Olympic tickets – an update « Michael's Blog - June 27, 2011

    […] tickets – an update Posted on June 27, 2011 by stickinsect In April, I applied for Olympic tickets in 15 separate sessions. In the subsequent ballot held a few weeks ago, I got allocated exactly […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 495 other followers

