Things you may have missed during the Royal wedding

2 May

‘I’m not a royalist but…’ is going to be a common opening of many blog posts over the next few days. But not this one… ok, maybe this one too.

I’m not a royalist but I did watch the Royal wedding on Friday. I also remained reasonably captivated throughout the whole spectacle; mainly due to a huge sense of trepidation that something would go horribly wrong before the eyes of 2 billion people worldwide. I held my breath as Kate walked down the aisle in that long long dress, I cowered behind the sofa when the couple were timidly saying their wedding vows, I closed my eyes when … OH MY GOD, THE RING WONT FIT!!! But in the end, all went well and, truth be told, everyone involved in the organisation of the global media event (because really, that is what it was) did very well. I think the day was an excellent showcase of British tradition, grandeur and pageantry.

Despite the ruthless efficiency of the organisation, there were of course moments that demonstrated a more personal and spontaneous side to those involved. Here are my top five personal/spontaneous moments from the Royal wedding that you may have missed:

  • When Kate first arrives at the altar (at 1.12 in the video), William leans across to Kate’s father and jokes “This was supposed to be just a small family affair”.

  • Most of the police outside Buckingham Palace looked rather serious. There was one chap however, that did his best to entertain the crowds.

  • The noise from the crowds as William and Kate kissed on the balcony of Buckingham palace was stupendous. Indeed, it was a little too much for one of the bridesmaids.

  • They may have arrived in a horse-drawn carriage, but they left Buckingham Palace in a more modern fashion. Notice the L plate and the number plate on the back of the car reading “JU5T WED”.

  • After a hard days work, everyone needs to unwind a little… even the vergers at Westminster Abbey!

Update: For my Chinese friends (who can’t access YouTube), I have now added photos of what the videos showed.

14 Responses to “Things you may have missed during the Royal wedding”

  1. superjessleong May 2, 2011 at 3:37 am #

    haha yea it was awesome!! i watched most of it :D would be nice if i was there in person!! but then agian im not the greatest with crowds. wish i could have stayed up later though! the experience was awesome!!

  2. Cathy May 2, 2011 at 5:09 am #

    I watched the wedding too. I’m very curious at those photos you posted because I can see only one of them (the balcony kiss). Well, don’t worry, I’m trying to imagine.

    • stickinsect May 5, 2011 at 12:44 am #

      I think that you could not see these as they were videos from YouTube. I have now uploaded some photos so that you can see what I am talking about.

  3. Cathy May 2, 2011 at 5:11 am #

    by the way, I can’t log on MSN, neither can I use my hotmail box. So here is my new email and website. Did you notice?

  4. Xiaoxiao Cao May 2, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    I really want to know what the other four pictures are!

  5. BabyBird May 3, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    I loved those moments too!! Even just Kate’s dress and everything was so classic and simple and down to earth. The fact that she did her own make up really stood out to me.. she’s so “real”! I loved, in the same early moment, when Harry looks back and says “What till you see her”..
    I haven’t been huge into the whole hoopla till that morning and got all caught up in it. They really are adorably great together :)
    LOVE the clip of the priest cartwheeling!!

    • stickinsect May 5, 2011 at 12:48 am #

      Yes, I read about what Harry said too. I think these small moments are the things that make events like this special… not the lavish buildings or fancy carriages.

  6. Sandra Bell Kirchman May 4, 2011 at 2:06 am #

    Thanks so much for posting all that stuff. I was up at 1am (Saskatchewan time) and watched all the pre-wedding stuff, including the arrivals and the speculations on Kate’s gown and the color of the Queen’s outfit.

    It was just fabulous. I was going to nap for three hours before the wedding started, but got caught up in the loveliness and fun of it all.

    It was a feel-great wedding, immeasurably helped by the efficiency and timing of the various parts of the event…and the absolute joy of the bride and the love gleaming in the groom’s eyes.

    It’s probably the best piece of PR for Great Britain, since Princess Di’s wedding. And the current bride was confident and absolutely radiant. Yayyyy, United Kingdom.

    • stickinsect May 5, 2011 at 12:53 am #

      I agree, it was very well organised and meticulously timed. The Queen always seems to appear very elegant too. So how long did you manage to stay up for?

      • Sandra Bell Kirchman May 5, 2011 at 2:49 am #

        I stayed up for the wedding and the ride back to Buckingham Palace. I wanted to stay up for the kiss on the balcony, but fell asleep in my chair – this was some time around 6am our time. So I stayed awake from 1-6am, 5 hours. I managed to impress myself. I didn’t mean to – it was just so…so watchable! :)

      • stickinsect May 12, 2011 at 12:38 am #

        Ha ha, good job!

  7. themacadamia May 11, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    Funny! I loved the cartwheel.

    • stickinsect May 12, 2011 at 12:53 am #

      Yeah, I think he got a bit of a telling off for that :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 495 other followers

