What made me decide to start a blog?

19 Jan

Last week, I said that every Wednesday I would be writing about a particular topic chosen by someone else. I also set up a poll to decide who would choose the topic. I can now reveal that the winner is …

… drum roll …

“… any one of the seven daily topics featured in The Daily Post the previous week.”

So, here is the topic I have chosen this week:

What made you decide to start a blog? If you’ve blogged about this before, go back and read it. Is that still the reason? What’s changed?

Well, I guess I first started this blog nearly a year ago to keep a record of and share the interesting little things I come across in life. I think that is largely still the case now. Things that I like to share include songs, puzzles, board games and my own thoughts. Essentially, I believe that if i am interested in something, there must be other people out there that are interested in them too. Perhaps this is somewhat self-indulgent of me, but I am quite passionate about some of the things I post about on here and I really enjoy it when I can make others feel the same way.

To answer the question of why I started this post-a-day challenge, I can honestly say it was just a whim. I read about the challenge about 15 minutes before midnight on the 1st January and thought “why not?”. Sometimes it is good not to think about things too much. People who know me will know that if I think about things, I think about them for a long time. Indeed, I have been looking for a laptop to replace my nearly 8-year-old computer for over 2 years now! So yes, a whim. I am quite proud that I have managed to get this far, quite surprised how naturally posting every day has come and quite intrigued as to how long it will last.

2 Responses to “What made me decide to start a blog?”

  1. Sandra Bell Kirchman January 27, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    I notice you haven’t missed a day. Good for you! I have missed 8 so far, but I am okay with that, because I didn’t want something else to put me under pressure and demand that I do it when I am too tired or don’t feel like it. I also am glad that I am keeping on keeping on.

    I have wanted to start a blog since 2004 when I met a number of well-known bloggers (in the online gaming world) at a conference I attended in San Diego. I was impressed with how they communicated with their subscribers and at the sheer number of followers they had. I was also reporting on online gaming at the time and I knew how hard it was to interest people and draw them in. So I have really wanted to try it (on a topic I knew a lot about), and here I am 🙂

    Sandra
    Wizards and Ogres and Elves…oh my!

    • stickinsect January 30, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

      Thanks. Actually, in some ways, I wish I had missed a few days at the start of January. By not missing days, I put pressure on myself to keep up the post-a-day challenge. At the moment it is fine, I am enjoying it. I just hope that I am able to stop when I stop enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

