What is your favorite sound?

26 Jan

The topic from The Daily Post that I have chosen to write about this week is:

What is your favorite sound?

Firstly, a bit of context. For the last three and a bit years, I have been doing a PhD in Orthopaedic Biomechanics (see ‘My Work’ page). Coming to the end of my PhD, I still have some computer models to run. Since I need to run a number of models and each model can take days to complete, my computer is nearly always on. Indeed, it is a blessing when I get the chance to turn it off. My favourite sound is therefore the Windows XP shutdown sound. When I hear this sound, the constant agonising over whether the model will work or not is lifted from me. This sound lets me know that I have nothing to worry about… lets me know that I can think about something else for a while.

9 Responses to “What is your favorite sound?”

  1. postadaychallenge2011 January 26, 2011 at 1:11 am #

    Hey nice thoughts, but turning off the computer is not something I do but understand as you study how nice that sound makes. Turning it off and relaxing for you has to be like a “day off” or dream day. LOL I am excited to be apart of the Post A Day 2011 challenge and hope to keep getting updates from you. I like your layout of your blog, i need more widgets! Bless you and good luck with your weeks studies or just “listen to silence.”

    • stickinsect January 26, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

      Thanks for the comment. Unfortunately, I will not be hearing this sound for a while yet.

  2. ristinw January 26, 2011 at 2:57 am #

    Hahaha! This is my favorite sound during the weekdays ^0^
    I’ve had the same shutdown sound at my work place!

  3. superjessleong January 26, 2011 at 2:59 am #

    haha i remember that sound! baack in the day x) but then yea i got windows 7 cheap from school!

    • stickinsect January 26, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

      You mean Windows 7 has a new sound?! Sacrilege!

      • superjessleong January 27, 2011 at 4:17 am #

        x) yea i think you can change it though!

  4. Sedera of the Island January 26, 2011 at 5:15 am #

    Original sound to be writing about! It made me think of how much I love hearing my mail application on my computer make the wooshing sound it does when an e-mail sends. It makes me feel like I am being productive but also reminds me how cool it is to be able to send out responses so fast. It’s kind of nerdy of me, I suppose, but it makes me very happy!

    • stickinsect January 26, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

      Yes, it is amazing how these sounds provoke a certain reaction from us.

  5. Raj January 26, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    I like the starting sound of my mac pro and also my htc android phone.

Leave a Reply

