When teleportation is finally possible, where will you beam yourself first?

9 Feb

Ok, I’m going to twist the question a bit this week and talk about which I would prefer out of being able to teleport or being able to time travel. Whilst time travel sounds very exciting, I think the concept is overrated. To explain why I think this, I would like to refer to a scene in the sitcom Red Dwarf (perhaps in my top ten list of British comedies ;-)). In the scene, the crew are in deep space, three million years into the future. Upon finding a time travel machine, they use it to travel back to the present day. They are of course still in deep space. Therefore, without a method of getting back to earth, the time travel machine is completely useless.

So, I would prefer to be able to teleport. I just think it offers more opportunities than time travel. I would love to be able to go and have dinner with my friends on the other side of the world.

7 Responses to “When teleportation is finally possible, where will you beam yourself first?”

  1. Will February 9, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    What about. . . teleporting yourself to where a time machine is?

    • stickinsect February 10, 2011 at 12:56 am #

      But would you not need a time machine to go to a time when time machines were invented?

  2. Sandra Bell Kirchman February 9, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Heh heh, I’d invite you to our place for dinner. I would love to teleport back in time and watch original Will Shakespeare plays or meet Winston Churchill in person or interview Henry VIII. I’d like to talk to Abraham Lincoln and FDR, Socrates and Helen of Troy (and find out what REALLY happened). I’d really enjoy chatting to Queen Elizabeth I and Queen Victoria. Was the latter really in love with Albert all those years, or was it just habit?

    Talking to the great writers, musicians and artists of our abundant history would be wonderful. You can see I have a bent for English history so I would roam David Copperfield’s England, or watch Hadrian’s Wall being built. There would be so much to see and do, so many questions to ask and be answered. It would be heaven!

    Sandra
    Wizards and Ogres and Elves…oh my!
    News, Views and Gurus

  3. superjessleong February 9, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    but the thought of teleporting is kinda scary X) youd have to break yourself down then rebiuld it somewhere else! what if it went wrong :<

    • ristinw February 10, 2011 at 2:53 am #

      Hahaha! Yes, I agree! In the process of decomposition, our body may be distorted and never be able to get back to our original form again >.<

  4. ristinw February 10, 2011 at 3:03 am #

    If there ain’t no side effects, I would like to teleport to: Easter Island (to take pictures), South Pole (to watch penguins), Mike Shinoda (to say hi), Nebula, M31, Atlair, etc 🙂

  5. leo timoshenko February 11, 2011 at 5:59 am #

    mmm teleportation. i would definately want to be able to teleport all the time from korea to ukraine, being those are the two main places where my family is (my dad’s side in ukraine, my mum’s in korea) it would be nice to have dinner with them once in a while.

    and i do agree with you on the limitations of time travel.

Leave a Reply

