A little computer problem

13 Feb

On Friday evening, I installed a new game (Jade Empire) onto my computer. Since my computer is eight years old, I fiddled around with the game’s setting to try to make it run faster. Suddenly, my screen went blank!

oh dear.

I reset the computer. It started to load Windows normally, then reset itself.

oh dear oh dear.

I tried to start the computer in safe mode. A blue screen flashed up before the computer reset itself again.

oh dear oh dear oh dear.

I ended up having to take a photo of the error message that flashed up on the blue screen (it was only visible for about half a second) and use another computer to search for a solution. Eventually, I was able to use my Windows disk to fix the problem.

Anyway, this is the reason for today’s post being so late.

7 Responses to “A little computer problem”

  1. Sandra Bell Kirchman February 14, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    You are so forgiven, Michael. Sorry you had such problems. I had a problem with mine a while back and was so afraid it was going to crash. I am not clever with computer-related problems, but fortunately my husband is. He fixed it, although it was touch and go for a while. Problem was I had a virus, and it was debatable whether the “fix-ware” was gonna fix it. It did.

    I’m glad you have the knowhow to fix these things, or it could have been a much bigger catastrophe 🙂

    Sandra
    Wizards and Ogres and Elves…oh my!
    News, Views, and Gurus

    • stickinsect February 24, 2011 at 1:04 am #

      Thanks. With my computer being so old, I am used to having to deal with these types of problems now.

  2. JsQuare February 14, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    oh dear oh dear. Time to change a new computer~
    XD

    • stickinsect February 24, 2011 at 1:08 am #

      I have been trying to decide what laptop to buy for about three years now!

  3. superjessleong February 14, 2011 at 4:16 am #

    awwh oh nos!! i had many blue screens of death on my toshi x) before!! but after a few surgeries toshi hasnt shown me that blue screen of death for a bit 🙂 hope yours is ok:O!

  4. Leianne February 15, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    It’s a good thing you were able to fix it. 🙂

    • stickinsect February 24, 2011 at 1:12 am #

      Yes I am glad. All my files are still there too.

Leave a Reply

