Spam e-mails

23 Feb

Today, instead of writing about a topic suggested by The Daily Post, I thought I would have a bit of a rant. I logged on to my computer this morning to find that someone/something had hacked into my Hotmail account and sent spam e-mails to everyone in my contact list. Since the spam e-mail had a link in it and I did not want people to click on the link, I decided to send an e-mail to everyone myself telling them not to open the spam e-mail. Unfortunately, when I clicked on send, I got the following message:

Your message wasn’t sent because there’s a daily message limit

So because the spammer had sent hundreds of e-mails using my account, my message limit had been used up and I was not able to send any messages myself to warn people about the spam e-mails. To make this even worse, here is the reason given by Hotmail as to why they impose a daily limit:

The limits are used as a deterrent to spammers

 

8 Responses to “Spam e-mails”

  1. BabyBird February 24, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    Ohmygod how horrific, and ironic. 😦
    There’s a lot of that going around on Hotmail lately.. I’ve received a bunch of them from some friends. Hopefully though, the majority of people can smell a spam email/link when they see one (and that it seems out of character if it came from you)

    • stickinsect February 24, 2011 at 1:23 am #

      Yes, but unfortunately it does not matter that ‘most’ people can tell it is a spam e-mail, ‘some’ cannot. Some of my friends clicked on it 😦 I don’t think any damage was done though.

  2. ristinw February 24, 2011 at 2:27 am #

    Awww sorry to hear about this 😦

  3. superjessleong February 24, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    lool!! oh my!! haha thats pretty funny on the part of hotmail limiting messages sent. but hopefully most people will be able to tell the difference from spam and real email 🙂

    i hate spam emails too! i never give out my email. but for things that require emails, i will use an email i specifically created to hold junk email so that i dont get junk emails on my real email 🙂 i have a few of these for school, for work(or future work) and what not. i remember i used to get so angry with those

  4. evelyn February 24, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    I agree with Jess. My old account (which has a silly name and which I don’t plan to use professionally) was destined to hold junk mails and web notification. The trick? I created a new gmail account and forward all the mails from my old email. The spam doesn’t get forwarded, and I can still see notifications now and then 😀

    • stickinsect March 16, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

      Actually, that is what I do. My hotmail account is my spam one. I guess that is why this happened.

  5. SL Jones February 24, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    IMPROVE YOUR CREDIT RATING!
    By selling all your possessions and living in a cave for the rest of your life.
    This was brought to you by the Rubbish Spam Society.

    • stickinsect March 16, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

      I am guessing that this is not spam 😉

Leave a Reply

