My top ten British sitcoms – number four

Straight in at number four is the oldest entry in my list.

Number four – Fawlty Towers

Inspired by an incredibly rude hotel owner, the main character is Basil Fawlty. Basil is a snob, regarding himself to belong to the upper class of British society. Thus, whilst he pampers to the every whim of the hotels more discernible guests, he is very rude to just about everyone else. Sybil Fawlty is Basil’s wife. Being the only person Basil is afraid of, it is often up to her to keep him under control. In stark contrast to her husband, Sybil is good at dealing with customers and at making sure things get done around the hotel. The other two main characters are Polly the maid and Manual the waiter (from Barcelona!).

First made over 35 years ago, Fawlty Towers is the oldest sitcom on my list. It is also the shortest, lasting just 12 episodes (six hours). Sure, it has aged and of course, I wish there had been more of it. However, despite its age and brevity, Fawlty Towers remains a classic to this day. Most importantly, it is still as funny as it ever was. I have perhaps watched each episode more times than any other sitcom. That has got to say something.

You can buy both series of Fawlty Towers here.

6 thoughts on “My top ten British sitcoms – number four

  1. Very funny, Michael. I have seen a few episodes of Fawlty Towers actually and found them quite amusing. I believe I am in the minority though when I say that I find Cleese’s rantings just a little tiresome. I know thousands of people of huge Cleese fans. It’s just me. What are three, two and one? Huh? Huh? Huh?

  2. Pingback: My top ten British sitcoms « Michael's Blog

Leave a Reply

