I’m back

20 Jun

It’s been a long long time since I posted anything on this blog. To my regular (as regular as you can be on such a sporadic blog) readers, sorry about my long absence. Recently, I have been finishing off writing my PhD thesis. I hope to finish making all the final checks tomorrow. After then, I will just wait for my supervisors to have one last look through the whole thing before handing it in. I have also had a bit of a break over the last week or so, visiting a few places in the UK. Hopefully I will get hold of some photos soon.

Next week, I will be starting my new summer job, working in the accommodation office of my university. Whilst I will be working from 9 to 5, I still think I will have time to come and post here, as well as checking out other blogs.

11 Responses to “I’m back”

  1. BabyBird June 21, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    Welcome back! That’s great news that you’re almost done your PhD thesis!! Congrats on such a great accomplishment! 🙂

    • stickinsect June 23, 2011 at 1:36 am #

      Thanks, still a little way to go with my PhD. After I submit my thesis I will have to have a viva.

  2. superjessleong June 21, 2011 at 5:40 am #

    OOOOOOOMG!! lol missed you 🙂 hehe lol working hard i see ;D! good good! early congrats on finishing your thesis ;D sounds like something really really hard to do 😛 and i dooo hope to see more posts sooon 🙂 its been a long time!

  3. ristinw June 21, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    Glad to see you again! 😀

  4. Sandra Bell Kirchman June 21, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    Hiya, Michael, glad to see you back – you were missed. If you want some fun flash fiction, you should visit my blog; there’s a few of them there. Also take a look at some of the others…Selena Wolff, Ken Broad, Haley Whitehall, Billie Jo Woods, Sonia Medeiros. These short little stories (under 1000 words) can pack a wallop of feeling 😛

    Congratulations on finishing your thesis and being so close to the end. We’ll have to get used to calling you Dr. Michael now 😛 I bet you are relieved and looking forward to a hopefully stress-free summer.

    • stickinsect June 23, 2011 at 1:40 am #

      I wish, not quite a stress free summer I’m afraid 😦 As well as a summer job, I will also have to prepare for my PhD viva. Thanks for your reading suggestions. Actually, I have a question for you. Are any of those stories (or your books) availible for the Amazon Kindle? I recently got one.

      • Sandra Bell Kirchman June 23, 2011 at 3:44 am #

        The anthology, Birth of a Unicorn and Other Stories, is available on both Kindle and Nook at $0.99 (not sure how much that is in UK money). My fantasy novel, Witchcanery, will be available as soon as I buckle down and make it happen. It’s not that difficult.

        As for the short stories, I plan to write about 7 or 8 more and then publish them as a Kindle-only collection of stories. That will be a ways down the road though.

        Grats on getting a Kindle. I want one too, but Canadian red tape is preventing me from getting a cheaper US one with the huge selection of books offered by the US as compared to the piddly selection offered in Canada.

      • stickinsect July 2, 2011 at 2:19 am #

        Thanks. Will you make Witchcanery available for Amazon.co.uk Kindle store?

      • Sandra Bell Kirchman July 2, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

        Yes, I will hopefully make Witchcanery available to Kindle UK – I think all I have to do is specify that it is an international selection.

Leave a Reply

